CropLife America Elects Board Leaders and Honors Award Recipients at 2016 Annual Meeting

NEW ORLEANS, LA – During the association’s 2016 Annual Meeting held this week in New Orleans, La., CropLife America (CLA) announced the results from the annual election of directors. “The work of our Board of Directors is imperative to making sure that farmers have access to crop protection technology today and in the future,” said Jay Vroom, president and CEO of CLA. “The Board’s leadership continues to drive projects and priorities at CLA that take the association, as well as the ag industry, forward. We are grateful to each director for their commitment to the association, the industry, America’s farmers, and consumers worldwide.”

The current officers on the Board of Directors will continue to serve in 2017, including Diane Allemang, director of North America business development and global portfolio at FMC Corporation, as CLA’s 46th chair of the board. In addition, the following candidates were elected to serve on the Board of Directors for the term 2016-2019:

  • Andrew Bodane, Sipcam Agro USA, Inc.
  • Brendan Deck, NuFarm Americas, Inc.
  • Dave Tretter, Crop Production Services, Inc.
  • David Cassidy, Tessenderlo-Kerley, Inc.
  • Gregory Johnson, Fine Americas, Inc.
  • James Blome, Bayer
  • Jeff Bunting, GROWMARK, Inc.
  • Mark Ripato, Tenkoz, Inc.
  • Michael Steffeck, Pinnacle Agriculture Holdings, LLC
  • Spencer Vance, Albaugh, LLC
  • Vincente Gongora, United Phosphorus, Inc.

CLA also recognized exceptional member company employees, allies and staff with awards during the general session and farewell gala dinner on Tuesday, September 27. Award recipients were nominated by industry professionals and selected by CLA leadership.

Named for the association’s first and longest-serving president, the Lea S. Hitchner Service Award represents CLA’s greatest honor. The recipients of this year’s award were:

  • Iain Kelly, Bayer
  • Lisa Drake, Monsanto Company (retired)

Presidential Path to Leadership Award: Presented to those CLA members who have shown exemplary service as voluntary chairs of one or more CLA committees. This year, CLA honored three individuals with the Roosevelt Award (presented to those who have served one full, aggregate term leading a committee or Issues Management Team).

  • Aaron Whitsel, DuPont
  • Jason Gonzalez, DuPont
  • Ray Brinkmeyer, Dow AgoSciences

Workhorse Award: Recognizes significant and progressive contributions that support the crop protection industry as serving a key role in the production of a safe, affordable and abundant food supply for U.S. consumers.

  • Matt Kern, Waterborne Environmental
  • Kevin Henry, NovaSource / Tessenderlo Kerley, Inc.
  • Jason Gonzalez, DuPont

State Legislative Award: Honors those who demonstrate outstanding leadership in the area of state legislative issues and who promote initiatives that preserve, protect and advance the ability of farmers to provide a safe, affordable and abundant food supply to America.

  • Senator Mac Middleton, Maryland
  • Ted McKinney, Indiana Department of Agriculture

Urbanowski Grassroots Award: Presented to non-member individuals who work to promote crop protection within communities and through grassroots activities.

  • Lynne Hoot, Delaware-Maryland Agribusiness Association
  • Lindsay Thompson, Delaware-Maryland Agribusiness Association

Agriculture Ambassador Award: Honors members of the media or allied organizations who have made a major contribution to the education of the public about crop protection and their contribution to a safe, affordable and abundant food supply.

  • Barb Glenn, National Association of Conservation Districts
  • Jim Gray, 2,4-D Taskforce
  • Bucky Kennedy, Southern Crop Production Association
  • Lisa Nichols, Crop Production Services

Chairman’s Award: Recognizes individuals within the CLA staff for exceptional service to member companies, the industry and the association.

  • Rebeckah Adcock, senior director, government affairs
  • Whitney Gray, coordinator, communications

“We are proud to honor the winners for their acumen, leadership and perservance to advancing crop protection technology and moving the industry forward,” continued Vroom. “The contributions of our members make CLA a leader in agriculture. Through an unwavering commitment to sound science, an openness to collaboration with partner organizations, and a willingness to go a step further and reach both consumers and growers, the association and its members continue to contribute to making the U.S. food system the most advanced in the world.”

Michael Leary